The municipality covers a total land area of 10, 410 hectares. It extends sixteen (16) kilometers from the shoreline to the south. It is more or less thirty (32) kilometers away from Tubod, Lanao del Norte, which is the capital town of the Province westward, and thirty (30) kilometers from Iligan City, the industrial hub of Mindanao in the eastern side. It is politically subdivided into sixteen (16) barangays, seven (7) along the coast; namely: Liangan East, Esperanza, Poblacion, Binuni, Demologan, Minaulon, and Rupagan; and nine (9) upper barangays; Alegria, Kahayag, Babalaya, Mate, Pagayawan, Babalayan Townsite, Dimarao, Punod and Delabayan West.